The 5th ISWC 2017 is being organised by NAPSWI and Department of Social work, Sree Sankaracharya University of Sanskrit, Kalady, Kerala jointly and details of both the organisations are as under:

National Association of Professional Social Workers in India (NAPSWI)

NAPSWI is a non - profit, non- political, national level organization dedicated to the promotion of standards and enhancement of the status of the social work profession in India. NAPSWI is one of the largest associations of social work professionals in India. NAPSWI was born in 2005, following the concerns of professional social workers to cater to the need of having an organisation at the national level. Since its inception, it has been making attempts to bring professional social workers on one platform so that a collective identity of the profession could emerge. NAPSWI intends to fulfill the twin purposes of promoting the social work profession within the country together with safeguarding and protecting the interests of social work professionals.


Department of Social Work, Sree Sankaracharya University of Sanskrit, Kalady, Kerala

The University, named after the illustrious sage and philosopher, Sree Sankaracharya, was established in the year1993 in Kalady. University was formed under the act 4 of 1994 of Kerala legislature. The primary objective of the University is to impart knowledge in various branches of Sanskrit as well as Indology, Indian Culture, Indian Languages, Indian Philosophy, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages and Social Science.. The Sree Sankaracharya University of Sanskrit was initiated and formed for the preservation and promotion of social and cultural heritages of India in general and Kerala in Specific. The methodological approach is interdisciplinary collaboration and indigenization of the traditional and modern theoretical and academic discourses in knowledge generation and dissemination for the betterment of the society. The sociological and anthropological ecology around the University is of a rural village inhabited by the middle and lower class people who need tons of assistance and leadership in academic and social initiations. The ever first university in Kerala which was accredited by NAAC with A Grade is currently functioning through its eight Regional centers at various historically important locations in Kerala. As a non-affiliating University having jurisdiction all over the state of Kerala holds the vision (Liberation through knowledge).

The Department of Social Work is one of the prominent departments in the University and has brought high credentials to the University and the profession since its beginning in 1995. The department of Social Work strives to promote social justice and inclusive social order through professional social work education and practice. The Department provides master of social work (MSW) and doctoral programmes in social work. The programmes offered by the Department are recognized by the social work accreditation councils of UK, USA, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand. It attempts to make a distinction all the way through positive action and live out for establishing the utmost standards of performance in social work education and practice with an Indian perspective, through research, knowledge generation, facilitation, training, consultancy and extension works. It is molding young challenging professionals with right attitude, adequate knowledge, and proficient skills to work with individuals, groups, communities for effecting desired social changes at local, national and international realms. The efforts to craft a constructive and transformative brunt on the existential conditions of people, academic life of the students within the University, and the communities at large are on their way of materialization. At present there are 240 social work postgraduate students along with seven Ph D research scholars in the Department spread through four campuses (Kalady, Payyannur, Thuravoor and Thirur). The annual intake is 120 students. The 24 teachers engaged in the social work training and teaching are very vibrant and contributing to the profession. The Department has made its significant establishment in the social work education and training in Kerala, India and in the International domains through its talented and hard working students as professionals. The Department is the only social work Department under a state University in the state and is a professional educational hope of the common people in Kerala. It has a number of national and international conferences and collaborations along with the consultancies and research programmes in its credentials.

Our Knowledge Partners

Kerala Association of Professional Social workers (KAPS) and Association of Schools of Social Work in Kerala (ASSK) are our knowledge partners in the organization of this academic event. These organizations are the professional bodies in Kerala which really take up the academic and professional concerns in social work and are trying to make the academic and practice standards enriched and maintained.


Organising Committee:

Chief Patron
Prof Dr.M.C.Dileep Kumar
Vice Chancellor,
Sree Shankaracharya University of Sanskrith , Kalady

Prof. Dr. Dharmarajan P. K.
Pro - Vice Chancellor
Sree Shankaracharya University of Sanskrith , Kalady

Prof R B S Verma,
Patron, NAPSWI

Vice Chairperson:
Prof. Dr, Sanjai Bhatt,
President, NAPSWI

Dr. T. P. Ravindran
Registrar SSUS Kalady

Organising Secretary:

Dr Jose Antony
Department of Social work, Sree Shankaracharya University of Sanskrith, Kalady

Dr. K. K. Boban

Department of Social work, Sree Shankaracharya University of Sanskrith, Kalady

Prof. Suresh Pathare
Secretary, NAPSWI

Student Co-Coordinators

Mr. Vittle Nixon
Ms. Arsha Jayakumar